Sublime Sunset

Sunset February 2017

In nearly all of my spiritual studies, much emphasis is placed upon the blessings of sunrise or pre-sunrise; this is presented as the optimum time and space for connecting with Self and the Divine. However, even though I have taken up the practice of rising before dawn quite a few times these past ten years, I still feel little resonance with sunrise. Sunset though? Ah, now that is an entirely different experience.

Sunset is the liminal space in which I feel a deep connection with all aspects of life and the unseen world. The moments after sunset are exquisite … I’m filled with gratitude and serenity. I breathe a sigh that seems to come from another world, from ancestors, from the benevolence of Gaia as some of us move toward sleep while a mysterious world awakens all around us. Sunset heralds the darkness of womb and cave and cauldron where magic happens.

I’ve read that the Celts believed the new day began at dusk … perhaps it is my Celtic roots that entangle themselves in my evening  shimmer of delight.

Thank you for sharing.

